top of page

Where the Heck is the Number 1 on My Typewriter???

Ok, I thought I was really silly when I couldn't find the number 1 on my old typewriter, but come to find out, there really isn't a separate key on the typewriter for the number 1. Turns out, there is not exclamation point either (more about that in a min). So I thought I would stop by for a quick post and share with you what I learned.

Here is a picture of my typewriter. It is a Penncrest Caravelle typewriter (I believe sold at JC Penny - circa ~1950s).

So to get a number 1, you use a lowercase "L". For an exclamation point, you can use the apostrophe above the number 8 and then backspace and use a period. The exclamation point is not perfect, but it works.

Hopefully this helped someone out. Thanks for stopping by.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page